A design work involves the selection of beautiful materials. The tailor-made solution goes so far as to create the perfect shade, a unique composition of natural oils.

For the interior decoration of the Le Gendre Idéal project, Hélène Le Goff worked on the creation of a custom-made oil stain for wood. Made from a composition of 3 different oils, this new grade has been applied by La Fabrique de l'Ouest to all the wooden elements of the Lamballais Concept Store. During the development of the shade, a specific approach caught the attention of Rubio USA, which chose to publish the project in its selection of "Best Wordwide Architecture & Design Projects 2019" in its BOOK 2020, and in its reference book which includes the most beautiful projects realized in 2019 in the 80 countries where Rubio Monocoat is available.

The project was also published as the best project of the month, by the group and published on all the social sites and networks of the international group RUBIO and its subsidiaries.

"Beyond the form, it seemed essential to me to create THE hue. Each project is the subject of a real experimentation phase. It is this phase of testing, of the colour, of the materials, which makes it possible to bring coherence in the smallest details for a unique result, which you will not find anywhere else! The colour of a wood oil may seem like a detail to some, but it is precisely the colour that will bring all the relief, the contrast or not of the grain, to magnify this noble material. This step is for me an essential approach in woodworking, with which I have a particular affinity.

Hélène Le Goff, Artistic Director Studio HLG



Product used: RUBIO Monocat - Oil plus 2C

Type of wood: Fir

Where was Rubio applied? On the steps of the stairs, the truck furniture, the glass roof, the "printer's box" type furniture and the shelves.

Architect/craftsman/entrepreneurs:

  • Interior design: STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff & Lillie H (Alisson Huet).
  • Staircase & Truck Design: STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff
  • Wall frescoes: STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff & Eyk
  • Staircase & Truck Manufacturing, Furniture: THE WESTERN MANUFACTURING
  • Photography: STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff

Why did you choose to use these specific colours?

"First of all, I selected Bourbon, which seemed to me to be the shade most in tune with the soil selected for this project. However, I found that this shade lacked warmth (especially yellow) and contrasts. I wanted to reveal more significantly the grain of the wood. My approach is really based on my parallel activity as a visual artist and photographer: in this context, I often work with contour lines on visuals or even in painting, i.e. on balances between light, medium and dark shades.

It seemed to me that the Bourbon hue, on this raw fir product, was revealed on the "medium" notes but much less on the light notes of the wood and especially not enough on the dark notes. I wanted a rendering with more contrasts while avoiding a new look. Authenticity is a major aspect of this concept store, so we had to transmit it in the shade created.

After several tests, I therefore used a balance of three shades, which in my opinion, allowed me to work on the 3 shades of the material.

I chose Invisible Smoke to sublimate the light notes, because it revealed the warmth on them (more yellow), while bringing to the whole a light grey patina that allowed to subtly age the wood to bring the desired authenticity. I used Bourbon for the main base as it brought the overall hue that I only wanted to refine, and I chose Candied Brown in the mixture to bring more dark and tan notes to the very pronounced grainings, the knots of the wood. This approach makes it possible to work on relatively accessible wood with a top-of-the-range finish."

What were the advantages of working with Rubio Monocoat oil?

  • Design side: keep the touch of the wood, the proposed color bases and the possibility to create your own color
  • On the realization side: time saving by the monolayer, ease of implementation on the substrate, smell during installation �
  • On the customer side: easy maintenance

...

Hélène Le Goff

Designer, Decorator & Artist, she imagines and creates these worlds.

Un travail de design passe par la sélection des belles matières. Le sur-mesure va jusqu'à créer la teinte parfaite, composition unique d'huiles naturelles.

Pour la décoration d'intérieur du projet Le Gendre Idéal, Hélène Le Goff a travaillé sur la création d'une teinte d'huile pour bois, conçue sur mesure. Elaborée à partir d'une composition de 3 huiles différentes, cette nouvelle nuance a été appliquée par La Fabrique de l'Ouest sur l'ensemble des éléments en bois du Concept Store lamballais. Durant l'élaboration de la teinte, une approche spécifique, a retenu l'attention de l'entreprise RUBIO USA qui choisi de publier le projet dans sa sélection des "Best Wordwide Architecture & Design Projects 2019" (Meilleurs Projets au Monde, Section Architecture & Design) dans son BOOK 2020, et au sein de son livre de référence qui regroupe les plus beaux projets réalisés en 2019 dans les 80 pays où est disponible Rubio Monocoat.

Le projet a été également publié en tant que meilleur projet du mois, par le groupe et publié sur l'ensemble des sites et réseaux sociaux du groupe international RUBIO et de ses filliales.

"Au delà de la forme, il me paraissait essentiel de créer LA teinte. Chaque projet fait l'objet d'une véritable phase d'expérimentation. C'est cette phase de test, de la teinte, des matériaux qui permet d'apporter la cohérence dans les moindre détails pour un résultat unique, que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs ! La couleur d'une huile pour bois peut paraître pour certain un détail, et pourtant, c'est précisémment la teinte qui va apporter tout le relief, le contraste ou non du veinage, pour magnifier cette noble matière. Cette étape est pour moi une approche essentielle, dans le travail du bois avec lequel j'ai une affinité particulière.

Hélène Le Goff, Directrice Artistique Studio HLG



Produit utilisé : RUBIO Monocat - Oil plus 2C

Type de bois : Sapin

Où a été appliqué Rubio ? Sur les marches de l’escalier, le meuble camion, la verrière, le meuble type « casier d’imprimeur » et les étagères.

Architecte/artisan/entrepreneurs :

  • Décoration d'intérieur : STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff & Lillie H (Alisson Huet).
  • Design Escalier & Camion : STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff
  • Fresques murales : STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff & Eyk
  • Fabrication Escalier & Camion, Mobilier : LA FABRIQUE DE L'OUEST
  • Photographie : STUDIO HLG - Hélène Le Goff

Pourquoi avez-vous choisi d’utiliser ces couleurs spécifiques?

"Tout d'abord, j'ai sélectionné le Bourbon qui me semblait être la teinte la plus en accord avec le sol sélectionné pour ce projet. Cependant, je trouvais que cette teinte manquait légèrement de chaleur (de jaunes particulièrement) et de contrastes. Je souhaitais révéler de manière plus significative le veinage du bois. Mon approche, tient vraiment de mon activité parallèle d'artiste plasticienne et photographe : dans ce cadre, je travaille souvent avec les courbes de niveau sur les visuels ou même en peinture, c'est à dire sur des équilibres entre teintes claires, medium et sombres.

Il m'a semblé que la teinte Bourbon, sur ce produit en sapin brut, se révélait sur les notes "medium" mais beaucoup moins sur les notes claires du bois et surtout pas assez sur les notes sombres. Je souhaitais un rendu avec plus de contrastes tout en évitant un aspect neuf. L'authenticité est un aspect majeur de ce concept store, nous devions donc le transmettre dans la teinte crée.

Après plusieurs essais, j'ai donc utilisé un équilibre de trois teintes, qui à mon sens, ont permis de travailler sur les 3 nuances de la matière.

J'ai choisi Invisible Smoke pour sublimer les notes claires, car il qui révélait la chaleur sur celles-ci (plus de jaune), tout en apportant à l'ensemble une légère patine grise qui permettait de vieillir subtilement le bois pour apporter l'authenticité recherchée. J'ai utilisé le Bourbon pour la base principale comme il apportait la teinte d'ensemble que je voulais uniquement affiner, et j'ai choisi le Marron glacé dans le mélange pour apporter plus de notes sombres et fauve sur les veinages très prononcés, les noeuds du bois. Cette approche permet de travailler sur un bois relativement accessible, avec une finition haut de gamme"

Quels étaient les avantages de travailler avec l’huile Rubio Monocoat ?

  • Côté design : conserver le toucher du bois, les bases couleurs proposées et la possibilité de créer sa propre teinte
  • Côté réalisation :  le gain de temps par le monocouche, facilité de mise en œuvre sur le support, odeur lors de la pose �
  • Côté client : facilité d'entretien

...